Lady in Fear

in the year 2006 or 2007 I don’t  remember well I took the train from Broadway to  Nanaimo , I used to lived about 4 blocks away from the station. that evening I walked about two blocks down and two or three young men followed me from the station and  insulted me  for being black , I was told to get lost from here to return to Africa where slaves were . They hit me so hard and threatened me  to hit me worse if  the police was  warned . I was told they  knew who I am and where my  house was located. They told me that if they see something strange around my house they will kill me . That experience was so bad that I end up in the hospital took exams in the face, but was never able to denounce . Today when I find this blog I realize that the situation would have been different if I had dared to denounce, those damn misfits are everywhere , and for someone like me who was  fleeing the violence of my country was even worse . that period of time  was so hard specially  because I left a country where violence against women is at high levels, to meet these cowards here. I hate not having the courage to denounce , but now at least I can write about it.

It was very painful to see my face completely swollen I know time has passed and there is nothing We can do but I also know that, that experience was so traumatic that sometimes I still have dreams with them

2 thoughts on “Lady in Fear

  1. My heart goes out to you. If it can make any difference, I apologize for the vile behavior of the people who assaulted you. They are not typical of even a small percentage of Canadians and their behavior would be criminal and disgusting in any civilized country. God bless and comfort you and may you find peace, love and refuge in your new home country.

    • I wish I could give you a hug for the indignity and fear you suffered. I am so very sorry on behalf of that happening. There are nice folks out there who respect you also.

Leave a Reply

