Who Gave You Permission?

When I was 17 or 18, a 50-60 year old man was sitting in his wheelchair at the front of the bus. Two of my female friends and I got on the bus outside Colossus movie theatre in Langley; our two male friends were right behind us. When we were waiting to pay for our fare, the man on the bus called out “Hey, girls, who gave you permission to leave the house looking so beautiful this morning?” We were very uncomfortable and ignored him, quickly moving to the back of the bus near the doors. When we were out of his sight, the man loudly asked “Where did those pretty girls go?”. He asked a few more times and called out for us; our male friends snickered under their breath, but my two female friends and I were visibly shaken and uncomfortable.

A few years later I actually saw this same man on the bus again. I realized it was him when I overheard a familiar voice say “Who gave you permission to leave the house looking so beautiful this morning?” to another woman on the bus.

Leave a Reply

