Early Memories Shaping Current Feelings on the Skytrain

My first experience on the Skytrain system was in 1986 when it was first built. I was with my family and we were going to visit the Expo site downtown. I was 6 years old. I thought it was cool to sit backwards and was fascinated to find a man with his penis in his hand, jiggling it up and down and grinning at me. Having grown up in a very pro natural environment I didn’t know that being naked on a train was inappropriate. Only after I told my parents what I had seen and they unleashed their fury and disgust did I realize this was something “dirty and wrong” to which I had in someway contributed to as a result of my youthful curiosity. I developed severe anxiety about riding on skytrains in Vancouver and to this day I hate it when someone sits behind me on the train and have to sit preferably with my back against the wall.

Leave a Reply

