Can We Please Stop Sexualizing Children??

When I was in grade 8 and attending private school, I was waiting for the bus at broadway and main. It was rush hour after school, and i was in a line up of people waiting for the bus. A hot day, my friend and I had stopped at the store and bought large freezies. We were eating these, when I became aware of an adult man  in the queue (probably in his twenties or early thirties)  smirking at us. He then said very loudly to us “getting your practice”?

This was many years ago but I remember it to this day, particularly the embarrassment I felt as others in the line stared and said nothing. I somehow felt ashamed even though I was innocent of trying to do anything suggestive.  I was careful after this not to eat things in public that someone could be crude about.

Leave a Reply

