Pregnancy Scared

The most upsetting incident was 29 years old and eight months pregnant riding on a packed bus.  A man sat in the seat next to me.  He had his bag on his lap and was looking forward as if everything was normal.  I felt something in my lap and then I realized that behind his bag, he had moved his hand over to between my legs.  I was paralyzed and did not know what to do.  In hindsight, I should have yelled or asked the driver for help, but at the time I was frozen with fear.  I also have sexual abuse in my past, so I was very triggered by this.  I whispered for him to move his hand, I think I even said please and then he did and then he got off at the next stop.  It was an awful experience, both being so violated when I was pregnant and because I have been frustrated with myself that I did not do more to get help.  Four years later, I still think about it every time I am at the stop where he got off.  Last year while riding a busy sky train, I noticed that a man was videotaping my daughter in her stroller.  I asked him to stop and told him to delete the video.  I have no idea if he did.  It is one thing I dislike very much about unstaffed sky trains, there was no one to ask for help.  When I got off and told the security at my station, the train and him were gone and there was nothing they could do.  There needs to be more in place to protect us and more help available when things go wrong.

One thought on “Pregnancy Scared

  1. Next time something like this happens it is an incident. The next step is to press the emergency strip on the window of the train.

Leave a Reply

